Department Of Commerce

Department Of Commerce

The Department of Commerce came into existence with the inception of the college in the year 1984 with 99 students and today it has grown to a strength of over 2000 students at the undergraduate and post graduate level. It became a Post Graduate Department in 2010.

Self finance courses of the University of Mumbai were introduced in subsequent years to meet the need of the student community and industry. Bachelor in Management Studies was introduced in 2005, B Com ( A&F) was introduced in 2010, B Com ( B&I) was also introduced in 2011.

The Department offers at the -

    Undergraduate Level-
  • BCom
  • BCom ( Accounting and Finance )
  • BCom ( Banking and Insurance )
  • BMS ( Bachelor in Management Studies )
    Post Graduate Level –
  • M Com (Advanced Accountancy)
  • M Com ( Business Studies ( Management ))

Commerce Forum –

The Commerce Forum was formed in 1998 . All the teaching staff and the students of the department are members of the Forum. Its functioning starts with the inauguration every academic year. It is the activity wing of the department. The Commerce forum organises talks, lectures, seminars on career guidance , financial literacy, personality development, industrial visits etc to enable students go beyond the syllabus.

  • Entrepreneurial Development Cell helps in nurturing interested students with a taste for developing start ups.
  • Industrial Visits – Department organises visits for students to experience practical applicability of their courses.
    Value Addition Courses –
  • Tally ERP 9
  • Youth Employability Program in collaboration with Techno serve.
  • Certificate Program in Financial Markets – Sales and Operations in collaboration with Bombay Stock Exchange.

Facilities:

  • Certificate Program in Financial Markets – Sales and Operations in collaboration with Bombay Stock Exchange.
  • Computer Lab – A well equipped commerce computer lab with 20 computers for practicals is maintained.

Faculty Members

B Com
Sr. No. NAME OF THE FACULTY QUALIFICATION DESIGNATION
1 Prof. Saritha Kurien
saritha.kurien@ggcollege.in
M Com SET HOD
2 Prof. Stanislaus Lopes
stanislaus.lopes@ggcolleege.in
M Com , AICA ,SET Assistant Professor
3 Prof. Hycintha Andrades
hycintha.andrades@ggcollege.in
M Com , M Phil, AICWA Assistant Professor
4 Prof. Sebastian Rebello
sebastian.rebello@ggcollege.in
M Com , M Phil Assistant Professor
5 Prof. Monica Penkar
monica.penkar@ggcollege.in
M. Com , SET ,NET Associate Professor
6 Prof. Evonne Sakharani
evonne.saakharani@ggcollege.in
M. Com , AICWA, LLB , SET Associate Professor
7 Dr. Nandkumar Zambare
nandkumar.zambare@ggcollege.in
MSc SET Assistant Professor
8 Prof. Albina Joshi
albina.joshi@ggcollege.in
MSc Assistant Professor
9 Prof. Ajeetkumar Yadav
Ajeetkumar.yadav@ggcollege.in
MSc , M hil, NET Assistant Professor
10 Adv. Leroy Colaco
leroy.colaco@ggcollege.in
LLM  
Self Finance Courses ( BAF, BBI , BMS )
Sr. No. NAME OF THE FACULTY QUALIFICATION DESIGNATION
1 Prof. Rubina D’mello rubina.dmello@ggcollege.in MBA , NET Assistant Professor
2 Mr. Macnoble D’ cruz macnoble.dcruz@ggcollege.in MCom , M Phil Assistant Professor
3 Dr. Gatting Koli gatting.koli@ggcollege.in M Com, NET Assistant Professor
4 Prof. Vikram Trivedi vikram.trivedi@ggcollege.in M Com SET Assistant Professor
5 Prof. Celsa D’ souza celsa.dsouza@ggcollege.in M Com SET Assistant Professor
6 Prof. Preetyrose D’abreo preetyrose.dabreo@ggcollege.in MMS , SET Assistant Professor
7 Dr. Tushar Raut tushar.raut@ggcollege.in M. Com , M Phil, NET Assistant Professor
8 Prof. Brandon D’silva brandon.dsilva@ggcollege.in MMS, SET Assistant Professor
9 Prof. Anthony D’mello anthony.dmello@ggcollege.in MMS, SET Assistant Professor
Achievements :
Students
  • Ms. Aarti Kodape stood 8th at TYBCom , University of Mumbai in 2000.
  • Ms. Vineetha Nair secured the 4th rank in Mumbai University at the T.Y.B.Com in 2010.
  • Mr. Suthish Sundaran (F.Y.Bcom) received Sparrow Friend Award 2012 from the Governor of Maharashtra K. Shankar Narayanan.
  • Miss Poonam Bhoir F.Y.Bcom won a Gold Medal at the Maharashtra State Karate Tournament in January 2012
  • Mr. Noel Shaji won Bronze Medal in Taekwondo in International Championship in 2018 held in Kolkata in Dec. 2018.
Former Faculty –
  • Late Mr. Sebastian Martin – 1985 to 1997 – Accountancy
  • Late Mr. Bahanan Abraham – 1990 to 2003 – Commerce
  • Mr. Ramesh Prabhu – 1991 to 1994 – Accountancy
  • Mr. Manish Majithia – 1996 to 1998 – Accountancy
  • Mrs. Manju Mathur – 1989 to 2012 -Geography
  • Dr. S. P. Singh – 1986 to 2016 – Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mr. Jose George – 1988 to 2021 – Commerce